diamondsky's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

All the world's a stage, especially London

Yesterday:
-Globe Theatre
-Random adventure through Southwark (pronounced Suthirk)
-Clink Prison Museum
-Dinner
-Homework

Today:
-Lloyd's Bank
-Class

I'm finally taking a break from all this touristy stuff to write about what I'm doing. I hope I don't look back at this time in my life and regret not writing every word about what was going on, but right now I'm really enjoying life. One day at a time.

Our group of 30 has split up into several smaller groups, but I'm doing an okay job with mingling with everyone. The group of Asians are hard to talk to, especially because they're from Hong Kong and just keep to themselves a lot. Oh well.

My roommate drove me crazy a little at first. She blamed it on the jet lag, but she kept waking up at 2 or 3 in the morning and would mess around the room for an hour or so. She'd eat--and she smacks and chews with her mouth open. She'd open zippers and bags and move stuff around. It got really frustrating, but she's doing better. However, she goes to bed really early sometimes. Last night she went to sleep at about 9:45pm. I don't know ANY college students that do that. This is also my first experience with living with a black person. I'm not trying to judge or whatever, it's just that my family grew up with parents who were very racist, I think. My dad makes jokes about blacks all the time, so it's just very new for me to experience this. She definitely has a tatoo on her back, and laughs loudly like my dad would joke about. But she is nice, and I really shouldn't complain. Unless she wakes up at 3am again tomorrow.

I've also hung out with Matt and Jenn a while. Matt is the guy I had a bit of a crush on, and definitely considered asking him to Formal. I gave up on the idea just simply because I didn't want to pursue something, get rejected, and then have a really awkward time in London. That would've sucked. And Jenn is his friend from class and school. She's really funny and intelligent. I like her witty attitude and we get along really well. Jenn and I were talking once while waiting on Matt to return from a gift store, and she accidentally (?) spilled the beans that Matt had/has a crush on me. Now I'm not really sure what to do, but I'm thinking I'll just kinda ignore that comment and see what these next 10 days bring us. Maybe our weekend in Ireland will be good? I was getting used to not really having a boy on my mind though, so it very well could be that I just don't need a boy right now. Who needs a boyfriend? I'm in love with London.

Everything here is so grandiose and beautiful. I love the detail that goes into every building, the sidewalks, the street markets. The pedestrian walkways tell you in bold white paint on the street "Look left" or "Look Right" in all the appropriate places. People are kind here, and they love it if you just smile and talk to them. I don't think U.S. has a city like that. Would NYC tell tourists which way to look at street corners? Would drivers in Chicago stop to let you cross the street? I don't think so.

The tube station is clean, even though there are no trash cans (they were removed when the IRA placed bombs inside them). Coming out of the underground is a surprise everytime. Our book quotes, "The best part of Underground travel is that you never actually see the places above you. You have to imagine them." The stops are not simply "Fifth Street South," but rather they have intriguing names. With names like Oxford Circus and Chalk Farm, you can't help but imagine a huge bigtop 3-ring circus complete with elephants or an open field of ready-to-harvest chalk and happy peasants to pick them for market. You have to be careful not to get wrapped up in these dreams, because when you step out of the tube it might not be the bigtop. Tower Hill doesn't have a tower or a hill. But the buildings are beautiful and you know you'll be up for an adventure once you get walking.

***

I have 3 assignments to finish, so more to come later.

Cheers!

5:29 p.m. - January 02, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

a-quick-peek
butterfly937
dragonsnaps
hitch-hike
italktowalls
itoldyou
justjulie
odds-n-ends
scullerymaid
thecritic
tsulnagrom
unchallenged
voicescarry
lostashes
atrandom
swingitaway