diamondsky's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Bugs and Boys

This morning I waded in a cold, murky creek out in the country. It was threatening rain, and the sky was a gloomy grey. When my alarm had gone off that morning, I wanted nothing more than to stay curled up in my bed. My entomology classmates and I learned how to be curious 5-year-olds again, as we turned over rocks and played with bugs. It was great to get our feet wet (even though sloshy shoes are disgusting) and our hands dirty again. It made me think of the tiny creek in the back woods of my house. I remembered the times Meg or Katie or Kristin and I would wander back there and explore.

Once, back in 5th grade, Holly and I went back there for the first time by ourselves. It was late in the fall, but it was still warm. We heard something let out a deep rumbling growl in the background, and we went flying back to my house. It wasn't until we got into the safety of my fenced in backyard that we realized it was just a combine. I wonder if she remembers that day as vividly as I do.

***

Tonight at dinner, my friend Mark and I joked about how he was going to see a movie with his guy friend. I laughed and said, "Sounds like you've got a hot date."

He winked, and then said, "Yeah, well at least I have a date!"

I wasn't sure how to take it, and it probably hit deeper than it should have. I got back to my empty dorm room (the roomie has gone home for the weekend, it's beautiful) and thought about life for a bit. I've realized that I'm putting too much effort into this boy business. From now on, I'm going to try to stop treating every boy as a potential boyfriend and as a new friend. Maybe things will work out better that way. Here's hoping.

10:27 p.m. - September 23, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

a-quick-peek
butterfly937
dragonsnaps
hitch-hike
italktowalls
itoldyou
justjulie
odds-n-ends
scullerymaid
thecritic
tsulnagrom
unchallenged
voicescarry
lostashes
atrandom
swingitaway