diamondsky's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

It's a God Thing

God does good and wonderful things. And sometimes, if I open my heart to Him, He uses me to do these good and wonderful things.

It all started with a desperate e-mail from the Transfer Mentor program. I signed up for the RSO at orientation, not really sure what the program would entail. After about a week I realized that it was a program I didn't really need. I had my group of friends, and I understood how the university worked. I knew how to get around campus, and if I didn't, my friends would go on adventures with me. So I sort of disappeared from the program. But this email stated that they needed more mentors--especially for those in the college of ACES. So I responded without really considering the consequences that I could be a mentor.

I ended up with two students to mentor. One, Gabby, is actually in my organic chemistry class with me. So we studied together on Sunday and started out the semester with an A+ because of our first quiz grade. Super!

But the real story lies with my other mentor, Dane. Dane is this tall, small town guy majoring in Ag education. He's funny and laid-back. He wears a black Carhartt coat and was the president of the National FFA team when he was in high school. And he's a practicing Catholic. We went to 9pm candlelit mass last night, and he also turns out to be an amazing singer. He seemed to really enjoy the mass, and afterwards we chilled and talked for a bit. We grabbed a bulletin, and I noticed that the application for NFK 92 was inside. I told him about the program--how it really helped me find a place in this university and how all of my friends that I have today are in this program. He seemed interested, so I talked more. I told him that the people he saw waving to me or talking to me were people from Koinonia. That the weekend is a great time to get away from class and homework and re/connect with God. Finally, I told him what Carly had told me over the weekend. I told him how Koinonia is what you make of it. You can either go, and absolutely love it and become great friends with these people, or you could hate it. And you could never see these people again if you really wanted that.

...

Dane is going to apply for NFK 92!!

I am going to pray, pray, pray for this. I am SO happy with life right now. So blessed and so thankful.

12:58 p.m. - January 22, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

a-quick-peek
butterfly937
dragonsnaps
hitch-hike
italktowalls
itoldyou
justjulie
odds-n-ends
scullerymaid
thecritic
tsulnagrom
unchallenged
voicescarry
lostashes
atrandom
swingitaway