diamondsky's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Short visit

Sorry for the delay. They say that when life is good, Diaryland gets the boot. Oops.

Thursday was the day from hell, seriously. It was bitter and cold outside, and I had the hardest take-home exam I've ever had. Two other girls and I worked on it together for about 4 hours, and then I finished it on my own for another hour. It's not that we waited until the last day, because we had been working on it little by little every day. It seriously sucked. I better have a good grade after all that work.

That night I was super grumpy, but my friends removed me from my room for mass and bad movie night. I was exhausted, and I didn't enjoy mass nearly as much as I should. But I remembered that in spiritual direction, Sister Janice said that life isn't always this high that I've been experiencing. I had to drop at some point, and Thursday night was the night to do it. But thankfully I've snapped back into the swing of things. My horticulture class did some really fun experiments with different potting mixtures, and we got to plant bulbs into neat arrangements. I'm really excited to see what my floriculture class will do with those plants next semester.

It hit me yesterday morning that I hadn't been home in over a month, so I sent an email to mi madre, and she took me home last night. We went out to Chipotle, and watched Curious George when we got home. Dad made jokes about my new "boyfriend," and then we watched the rest of the Cardinals game together (they won!). I played with my dogs under the clear, starry sky. And my cat snuggled up next to me while I slept. Home is so good to me.

I'm sad that I only came home for the evening, and it doesn't seem fair that I have to leave in an hour and a half. It was my decision to have a short visit, but now I wish I could stay just one more day. I don't want to go back to the land of readings, projects, and exams. My friend Linda and I are searching for an apartment, and it's weird that I'm thinking about living arrangements for next year even though it's October. And we're already a quarter of the way through the schoolyear. Weird.

Oh! And this winter break I'll be studying abroad in London! It makes me want to watch Love Actually and start drinking Earl Grey tea. Mmm.

Life is still good.

3:56 p.m. - October 14, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

a-quick-peek
butterfly937
dragonsnaps
hitch-hike
italktowalls
itoldyou
justjulie
odds-n-ends
scullerymaid
thecritic
tsulnagrom
unchallenged
voicescarry
lostashes
atrandom
swingitaway