diamondsky's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

A Bad Day in London

Today will be remembered as the suckiest day in my London history.

This morning our class went out to the London Hindu Temple, which was beautiful and interesting. And then suddenly we were put into this room and boys went to one side, girls on another. Doors at the front of the room opened, and a line of shrines was displayed. We were a part of a Hindu worship service. With no warning, no explanation from our professor. Nothing. And this lady brought a plate that had a burning flame on it. I guess we were supposed to gather the "light" with our hands and put it over our head for it to enter our spirit. Or something. Again, no real explanation. It was really awkward, and I wasn't prepared to be in a setting like that at all. I almost started crying, but instead starting praying the Hail Mary over and over. I missed my Father, Son, and Holy Spirit.

I understand that we are here for cultural diversity, but forcing us (unknowingly) into a worship service of a foreign (different) religion seems wrong. It almost seems disrespectful. I'm sure people don't appreciate it when they're forced to go to Catholic mass; especially if they have no previous knowledge of Catholicism. Ughggggh.

We left the temple and came back to the hostel for 2 hours of class. He didn't give us much time for "participation," and 15 points are dedicated to participation in every class. Boo, again.

Tonight was even more hellish.

It all started with a group of us who were signed up to see "Coram Boy," a popular British play. We all decided it'd be fun for us to go out to eat and then meet up at the theatre. We ended up going to this Indian restaurant. I really don't like Indian food, but 8 of the 12 people going on this trip were going to the place, and I wasn't about to be the only one left behind. Giving in to peer pressure at its finest, I guess. So I had a pretty bland meal, because I'm a loser and didn't feel like being brave. I can't handle the spicey food, and even if I can handle the spice, I usually get a really upset stomache afterwards. I didn't feel like spending my money on food that I didn't like and would make me feel gross afterwards. Logical, right?

At 7pm we ordered our checks, but we really needed to book it out of there since the play started at 7:30. More importantly though, was that our professor said that if we weren't there by 7:25, he was going to go inside and we'd have to wait until intermission to pick up our tickets. Four of us realized we were going to be cutting it close, but the other four just kept taking their time. Finally, Kathrynn, Jenn, Lainie, and I left the restaurant and literally ran to the tube station and ran again to the theatre. We arrived at 7:28, and Professor was no where to be found. We were pissed. We walked around, wondering what we could do. Obviously we couldn't just walk into a theatre which we didn't have tickets for. So we were left waiting around until intermission. Basically we sat out on a bench overlooking the Thames and bitched about the entire evening and how unorganized this entire trip has been. Yes, it's been fun. But the teacher really sucks at organizing anything. We've left late, and he barely gives us any directions as to what we're supposed to be doing or when. [Right now we're waiting for an email to tell us which Jewish Museum we'll be meeting him at tomorrow. He said we could locate it in the map we bought for this class; however, there are two Jewish Museums listed on this map and in the book. Grrrr]

Anyway.

Intermission came, and again he was nowhere to be found. Annoyed and frustrated, we started talking to ourselves about how retarded this entire evening has been. One of the workers overhead us and told us that A) We could have entered the play at two different times since they had late arrival entrances and B) we could have stood in the back of the theatre until we found our professor/group. Damn it.

With only a minute to go before intermission ended, we found one of the 2 classmates who had gone to the play without our group. We hurried in with her, only to be shocked and disgusted that the 4 girls who had been taking their slow sweet time were sitting comfortably in their seats. !@&#^$(!!! SO PISSED. How the HELL did they even do that?! And they didn't even say anything to us. They just sat there and smiled with this evil grin on their faces. Totally bitchy and totally pissed me off.

The last half of the play was absolutely amazing. Which, really, only made me more upset that I had missed the beginning. The lack of communication in this program is really starting to bother me. I feel as though that a professor that has done this program 3 years in a row should have more of a handle on this. But, no. Absolutely ridiculous.

I'm in a computer lab with Jenn. I really don't want to go back to my room, because my roommate was one of the 4 who was in the other half and she can get really prissy and rude sometimes. I just don't feel like hearing her side of the story right now. Hmmph.

Tomorrow I'm going to Kensington Gardens, and I'm going to see the Peter Pan statue. I've decided that it will be a good day.

-Cheers.

11:55 p.m. - January 03, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

a-quick-peek
butterfly937
dragonsnaps
hitch-hike
italktowalls
itoldyou
justjulie
odds-n-ends
scullerymaid
thecritic
tsulnagrom
unchallenged
voicescarry
lostashes
atrandom
swingitaway