diamondsky's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Adventures in London

Our flight landed at about 5:30AM London time, which was 11:30pm at home. Of course, I didn't sleep on the flight because I was too pumped about arriving in London. I've dreamt of being here ever since I was a little girl when I first saw Peter Pan. And now I finally made it.

Heathrow arrivals gate wasn't nearly as exciting as it was in Love Actually, but that didn't stop me from quoting the movie in my head when we walked through.

This whole experience seems to be floating along in this gleamy, happy daze. Even though we've been rushed and busy, I am really enjoying myself here.

Our first day here we were supposed to travel out to Parliament Hill as a class. We were in the tube (subway), and one of the girl's Oyster Card (ticket pass) didn't scan through. A few of us paused while the ticket guy helped her out, but as soon as we looked up the rest of our class was gone. Grrreat. We looked at each other in shock for a moment, and then rushed down one of the flights of stairs to see if they were there. Nothing. We ran back up and then down another staircase... Empty. So, yeah, 7 of us were stuck in a London tube station with no idea what we were doing. After the initial shock wore off, we realized we still wanted to go to Parliament Hill. So that's what we did. We stared at maps in utter confusion. We asked random people on the tube. I remember we needed to get off at the Hampstead stop. We took a bus and walked around. And then we found it! It was simply beautiful, looking over across the skyline of London. You could see The Old Bailey through the fog, and the main skyscrapers of central London. Pretty much... amazing.

Every home here has a garden. And if they live in a flat, their balconey is covered in plants. African Violets grow along sidewalks. Holly trees fill people's yards. It's incredible. I can't stop getting gleefully excited every time I see a pretty garden--and that's everywhere! I feel a little bit nerdy, but it's just nice to know that I'm doing something I really love. And I'll do good things with my career someday. Even if it just means helping people have a small garden in their front yard. Totally worth it.

Oh, and I still have homework to do. Boo.

8:27 p.m. - December 28, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

a-quick-peek
butterfly937
dragonsnaps
hitch-hike
italktowalls
itoldyou
justjulie
odds-n-ends
scullerymaid
thecritic
tsulnagrom
unchallenged
voicescarry
lostashes
atrandom
swingitaway