diamondsky's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Joyful Sunday

I'm home, just so ya know.

I went to mass tonight with my mom. It's always so weird going back to church here in Paxton. All the elderly know who I am, and they get so excited to see me. There are a few young couples now, with a few children. I didn't know who they were. But almost no one my age goes to mass. At least, not 5pm mass on a Saturday.

Father's homily made me think a lot, and I can't remember the last time he had a homily I could walk away with a good message. Today was Joyful Sunday in Advent. A time to take a break from our preparation for the coming of our Christ to remember that what's coming will be good and worthy of our praise. Father spoke of the difference between happiness and joy. That too often people look for happiness from the outside, and expect to have joy within ourselves. He reminded us that joy is spiritual, and much deeper than happiness. He went on to say that even though we may be experiencing sorrow, it is possible to still have joy in our spirits because of our faith. I pray that I may always have a joyful spirit. That I will always remember the love of Christ and the goodness He has given me. That's how I want to be remembered, and that how I wish for God to see me.

At our church, no one bows their head at the name of Jesus Christ. Our priest holds hands with the altar servers and the Eucharistic ministers before giving out Communion--and I'm pretty sure he's not supposed to do that. They don't bow before receiving the body of Christ. But that's all we knew. That's how I used to be. I wish there was a way for joy to reenter our little church. Maybe someday I'll come back to Paxton, and start a junior and senior high youth group that will actually mean something. Who knows what God has in store for me. I just know that it will be good. And worth the wait.

Much joy,
Diamond

6:09 p.m. - December 16, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

a-quick-peek
butterfly937
dragonsnaps
hitch-hike
italktowalls
itoldyou
justjulie
odds-n-ends
scullerymaid
thecritic
tsulnagrom
unchallenged
voicescarry
lostashes
atrandom
swingitaway