diamondsky's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Thanksgiving Wishes

I wanted a taste of a normal Thanksgiving. Or at least one with a family that actually enjoyed spending time together.

That hope was a total bust thanks to October 6, 2007, so instead I was stuck at the holiday banquet center with my parents and my brother. No one talked during the meal, except for my brother when he talked on his cell phone. Twice. Or when my dad complained about the service. The rides to and from the banquet center were spent in total silence.

As soon as we got home, Dad and Paul disappeared into the garage to watch the Packers game, and Mom took a nap on the couch.

I want a family with love. With smiles and laughter at the table. I want to talk about what we're thankful for, and then I'll help clean up the dishes. I want to actually have to do dishes on Thanksgiving instead of going out for the meal. I do not think that I am being too selfish when I ask for these things.

Am I?

3:48 p.m. - November 22, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

a-quick-peek
butterfly937
dragonsnaps
hitch-hike
italktowalls
itoldyou
justjulie
odds-n-ends
scullerymaid
thecritic
tsulnagrom
unchallenged
voicescarry
lostashes
atrandom
swingitaway