diamondsky's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Can

I witnessed a pair of my friends from college get married this weekend. It was in a Catholic church, and it was the most beautiful event I've ever been to. The weather was lovely and the reception was amazing. It's weird to see my friends growing up, but maybe that's a good thing. We can't all be college students forever.

Jon and I had a really good weekend together. We hadn't spent more than an hour together in over two weeks, and I think the time apart was good for us. I've missed how he can complete my silly jokes and make comments that take my breath away.

During the reception (which had an open bar), his friend joked with Jon when he saw Jon put down a beer before slow dancing with me. His friend said, "Aw, c'mon, Jon... Can't dance and hold a beer at the same time? Amateur!" To which Jon replied, "Ah, but I have better things to hold on to." Silly, but sweet.

Today was filled with a lot of quotations to remember.

Before mass, Jon, his roomie, and two other guys were in the living room with me, and we were talking about home phones or something. I mentioned that two things I couldn't wait to have were a land line and a landscape.

The homily at mass spoke to me in a lot of ways, but specifically when Fr. Greg quoted Ralph Waldo Emerson. "Our chief want in life is somebody who shall make us do what we can." And I guess he couldn't have said it a better way.

On Saturday, Jon and I played a game of checkers. I was losing in an awful way, and couldn't find a way out. I guess I just decided to allow myself to accept defeat, and basically committed checkers suicide. Jon looked at me with this puzzled look, and I told him that there was no way I could have saved the game. That's when he put the pieces back on the board before I gave up, and showed me how I could have lasted a lot longer. It was frustrating in one way, but in another way it was nice to see that he didn't want me to just give up. I'm not sure I've ever really had anyone push me to improve or work harder (except maybe my track coach?). It's nice. Maybe with Jon at my side I'll learn to take charge and refuse to settle.

So 3 goals in life:

Land line
Landscape
A person, like Jon, who will be there to tell me "You can"

7:26 p.m. - July 01, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

a-quick-peek
butterfly937
dragonsnaps
hitch-hike
italktowalls
itoldyou
justjulie
odds-n-ends
scullerymaid
thecritic
tsulnagrom
unchallenged
voicescarry
lostashes
atrandom
swingitaway