diamondsky's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Birthday, 21

Birthdays come with this sort of magical power. It draws all the people in your life that haven't talked to you in weeks, months, or years and now suddenly they care enough about you to wish you a "Happy Birthday." It's more powerful than graduation and New Year's Eve combined.

I know I've felt the force.

I wished Kristin a very happy birthday on her Facebook.com wall and even posted a cheesy poem on there for her. Before then, I hadn't talked to her since the day I moved out in August (her birthday is in December). It caused us to talk a couple times, but then she disappeared from my life. (Until she was a few weeks away from graduation, that is)

I received over 40 messages on my facebook wall yesterday for my 21st birthday. Several of those people haven't talked to me in years. Some of them I don't even consider close friends (merely acquaintances).

One of them was from Brendon, who I haven't talked to since the last time he crossed the line with another religious debate. He merely wrote, "Happy birthday, pizza face." It seems cruel, but it's just a running joke between us. I liked having him out of my life. So I'm only going to allow this to be a mysterious birthday power. I might even post something on his wall for his birthday in a few weeks.

The birthday. It's powerful--don't try to stop it. Just go with it and wish the person a Happy Birthday. In a few days, it'll all be over.

On that note, I'm now 21. I couldn't even finish my first drink with my family. Lame. This weekend, when I celebrate with friends who will want to buy me drinks, ought to be interesting.

8:01 p.m. - May 15, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

a-quick-peek
butterfly937
dragonsnaps
hitch-hike
italktowalls
itoldyou
justjulie
odds-n-ends
scullerymaid
thecritic
tsulnagrom
unchallenged
voicescarry
lostashes
atrandom
swingitaway