diamondsky's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

electricity.

I didn't understand how electricity was such a big deal until I lived in my own apartment. Having to pay for it really sucked, so I tried to be more observant on how I used the lights and entertainment stuff and everything in my room. The only electricity draining that I do now is keep my computer on pretty much 24/7, but the monitor is usually turned off so it's not really that big of a drain. I'll leave one light on at a time in the room when I'm here, but I turn them off when I leave.

Katelyn, on the other hand, looooves her electricity. She keeps all lights in her area of the room on at all times when she's here and even when she's not. So a strand of Christmas lights, a desk lamp, a bright reading lamp (120 watt, I believe) that extends over her bed, and her flourescent desk lamp are on, except those 7-8 hours that she's sleeping. She keeps the closet/sink light on, even when she's not using it. Her computer is always on. She's got the ceiling fan running and the air conditioner blowing constantly (instead of at energy-efficient) at the top fan speed. Add in our radios/alarm clocks and the microwave & refridgerator that is constantly plugged in... I can't even imagine. Ridiculous.

I wonder how she'll react when she receives her first electricity bill next year in her apartment.

It's no wonder Newmal's room & board increased so much from this year to next year. It's because we have energy hogs all over the place. I'm probably just as guilty since I leave my computer on. Dangit. I just think it's a little excessive. That's all.

11:37 p.m. - April 22, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

a-quick-peek
butterfly937
dragonsnaps
hitch-hike
italktowalls
itoldyou
justjulie
odds-n-ends
scullerymaid
thecritic
tsulnagrom
unchallenged
voicescarry
lostashes
atrandom
swingitaway