diamondsky's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

12:41am

Last night Jon and I had our first date. It was a month in the making, but it was worth the wait. The night started with mass, which, I've decided, is probably the best way to start a date. He took me out to dinner (mmm, Olive Garden!), we talked and chilled for a bit before he took me to the planetarium. We went back to his apartment and played darts for a while.

The next couple lines are gonna be mushy, lovey, sappy, etc. You've been warned. But I know that some day I'll want to remember this night as vividly as I do now. You don't have to read it. It's my diary, after all.

***

After the game of darts, we cuddled for a bit on his bed and talked. Most of it was spent lying on our backs, giggling about how random I am when I'm sleep-deprived. Later, he held me in his arms, and we just talked about home and old friends and getting-to-know-you stuff in general (the kind of conversations that I love). I was curled up in the little ball I usually sleep in when I'm completely, totally comfortable. He was wrapped next to me. But not in the way that Brendon and I used to be. It was still right. He wasn't right there, if that makes sense. My mind wasn't on thoughts of that kind. I was focused on getting to know him, laughing with him, enjoying his company. It was good.

In the middle of the conversation he stopped, and said "You know, usually when I sleep at night, the spot you're in is taken by a big pillow. You fit quite nicely here. It's kinda... convenient?"

Without thinking--without considering any consequences--I responded, "Yeah, it will be someday." It just flew right out of my mouth. Like a caged bird finally set free. It was this deep, beautiful peace that lingered in the air for a moment.

"Someday," He repeated. "I like that."

I explained to him what I had talked to Sister Janice about in spiritual direction. About the difference between "hope" and "expect." It's okay to hope for these things to happen, but we have to be careful with expectations (that's when we are bound to get hurt). I didn't want either of us to be hurt by expectations. He understood. I think we're both hoping though, and I'm okay with that.

At 12:30am, we both realized that I still had to drive back to Paxton. He drove me over to the parking lot and we started our good-byes.

Campus was silent, the sky was clear. The clock on his radio shined the bright tennis-ball green color. It was 12:41am.

He said, "I love you."

And I said it back.

11:25 p.m. - March 18, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

a-quick-peek
butterfly937
dragonsnaps
hitch-hike
italktowalls
itoldyou
justjulie
odds-n-ends
scullerymaid
thecritic
tsulnagrom
unchallenged
voicescarry
lostashes
atrandom
swingitaway