diamondsky's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

New semester, new goals

This morning I was having a dream about London. It wasn't anything exciting or anything dramatic or some weird subconscience thing. It was just me, chilling out near the Tower Bridge. I was by myself, and I was able to soak in the sites for myself. Something I wasn't really able to do throughout the entire trip. Next time I go to a place I've dreamt of visiting since I was a little girl, it won't be with group travel. Yuck.

I left Tower Bridge and was back in the squeaky bed at the hostel. I was trying to fall asleep, and (ironically) that's when my alarm went off at 7am. I was warm and comfy in my bed, and I was very confused as to where I was. I wasn't home, and I wasn't in that smelly hostel. I was back at Newman. Another semester has begun.

I'm trying to figure out where I stand in life right now. While in London at an elementary school which had a program for refugee program, we were asked to list 10 things that define us. Student, daughter, sister, friend, aunt, gardener, small-town girl, American, Catholic, animal lover. These are supposed to be things that we could take with us if we were stripped of our home and belongings.

I wish I could be more. I want to make an impact on this world, but I've become so lazy that I'm barely even a good friend anymore. I have dreams and aspirations, but I just sit around as if I'm waiting for a miracle to happen. That's why I need to work really hard at my New Year's theme. I really need to organize my time and structure my day. I can't afford to be wasting all this time on Facebook, or checking email 5 times in 10 minutes. I need to do something real, something good. That's why I'm determined to stay active as a transfer mentor. I'm determined to start working out at least once a week. I'm going to hang out with my friends and really try to listen and provide feedback. I'm going to try to attend mass more often, to go to confession and adoration more often as well. Ooh, I might even read the Bible! 2007 is the year I get my life in order. Because if I don't do it now, I'll be this lazy person for the rest of my life.

I'm going to do my best.

10:31 p.m. - January 16, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

a-quick-peek
butterfly937
dragonsnaps
hitch-hike
italktowalls
itoldyou
justjulie
odds-n-ends
scullerymaid
thecritic
tsulnagrom
unchallenged
voicescarry
lostashes
atrandom
swingitaway