diamondsky's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Good-bye, Rodney

I have a final exam tomorrow morning at 8am

I called my mom for a study break, only to discover that my neighbor, Rodney, committed suicide in their garage.

He wasn't exactly the cleanest guy. He had a pretty shady background, but he made me laugh. And he taught me some stuff about gardening. He would bring over some of their best apples from their trees. He was brutally honest, and sometimes I felt bad for him for living at home even though he was such an adult. He made mistakes in his life, that's for sure. But somehow, I saw the good in him.

Our neighborhood must be buzzing with excitement. They probably didn't hear the gunshots like my parents did though. Thank God his parents (my "real" neighbors) weren't hurt, but I'm sure their spirits are low.

My head is spinning with all this information. Why did he do it? What could have been done to help him? How did people miss the warning signs? Why, why, why?

I still have that final tomorrow, but I just can't concentrate.

10:59 p.m. - December 13, 2006

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

a-quick-peek
butterfly937
dragonsnaps
hitch-hike
italktowalls
itoldyou
justjulie
odds-n-ends
scullerymaid
thecritic
tsulnagrom
unchallenged
voicescarry
lostashes
atrandom
swingitaway