diamondsky's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Meet the Parents

Jon's house sits in a small neighborhood in a town smaller than Paxton. It faces the north, and has two beautiful crab apple trees in the front yard. English Ivy crawls throughout the landscape, and there isn't much grass because of the constant shade.

When you enter the house, there's a dining room to the left, and a living room to the right. In front of you is the staircase. The house is messy, but not in that awful pack-rat way. You can tell that the house hold memories, stories... a family. His house has the same 70s feel that my house has--shag carpet, wood paneling, paisley wallpaper. His kitchen is much bigger than mine, and they have a breakfast table. It was cozy and bright. I couldn't help but feel at home when I was there. As if I had experienced growing up in that house, if only through Jon and his stories.

The backyard was small, but there was also a deck. The deck had red pillars--just like ours. The house overlooked a small man-made lake. It literally creeped up into Jon's backyard. The grass was soft, and I walked through it barefoot. There was a willow tree whose branches flowed through the wind. Daffodils were emerging in the yard.

Jon's dog, Buddy, played with me and jumped at me as if I had been his best friend for his past 8 years. He's probably the sweetest dog, (other than mine of course) and he's adorable, too.

And Jon's parents? His mom is short--shorter than my mom. She's friendly and caring. She sells Mary Kay and is determined to have a girl's night with me sometime soon. She loves a good laugh and made me feel at home. She's already said "I love you," and I'm pretty sure I'm okay with that. Jon and his mom get along really well. It was nice to step back and watch their relationship. He treats her with respect and he doesn't mind talking to her on the phone or saying "I love you."

His dad reminds me of my dad and grandpa put together. He's witty and sarcastic. He's still very in love with his wife (and she's very in love with him). Jon and his dad have a really close relationship. The way they joked back and forth was hilarious; a real comedy act you could say.

They were wonderful. They made me laugh and taught me how to play Hearts. There was laughter and love filling that kitchen when we were there. I felt it. There was no television show taking up everyone's attention. No one was in a hurry to get on with the next project of the night. We had a real conversation. I wish I could have dinner like that every night. I hope someday I can have a family like that. Someday.

Last night, after returning from his home, Jon and I finally set out our clear limits on what was acceptable for the physical aspect of our relationship. Jon said something that completely took me by surprise. He said, "I want to shake this man's hand someday. This man? He's your husband. I respect this man, and I respect you. I'm going to show this man respect by taking care of you now and treating you the way that I hope my future wife will be treated. He deserves that, and so do you." I cried, just a little, because I don't want to screw this one up. I care too much about Jon to mess it up with physical temptations. Jon told me, "It's not going to be easy. But it will be worth it. And, remember, you're not fighting this alone." I'm so blessed with Jon in my life. I'm trying to learn from my mistakes with Brendon, because I refuse to mess this one up in the same way.

I feel so good about this relationship and what God is doing through us. I feel blessed and I thank God for what He has given me.

12:28 a.m. - March 25, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

a-quick-peek
butterfly937
dragonsnaps
hitch-hike
italktowalls
itoldyou
justjulie
odds-n-ends
scullerymaid
thecritic
tsulnagrom
unchallenged
voicescarry
lostashes
atrandom
swingitaway