diamondsky's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Watermelon: 96% water, 4% Heaven

This summer has been a lot of hard work. I don't want to brag, but it's true. I know homework and studying is hard. And I know that working some crappy minimum wage job is boring and hard to put up with. I know because I've had those summers before and I hated them. But this summer was out-in-the-sun hard. Sweating in 90 degree weather with 80 percent humidity hard. Working on my knees, getting so dirty that it sometimes doesn't wash out in the shower, bending over, lifting heavy objects, and using the hoe all day long hard. It's been exhausting. Tiring. Frustrating.

And for once

Rewarding.

Today I went out to the farm and grabbed a couple ears of corn straight from the stalk. I shucked them and cooked them. Enjoyed them like I've never enjoyed corn before. And then the housemate and I went back to the farm and found a ripe watermelon. It would thud like a drum when we knocked on it. We snipped it off the vine and brought it back to the house. The entire kitchen smelled of the watery, juicy goodness.

And it was the best watermelon I've ever had in my life. You know why? Because back in May, that watermelon came from a tiny little seedling that I watered in the greenhouse. That watermelon was fertilized and cared for by me (okay, okay, and the other interns, too). We placed that watermelon in soil that we tilled. Soil that we covered with plastic mulching and drip irrigation. We gave it plenty of space to grow and mature. And then we put down landscape fabric to prevent the weeds and allow the water to drain through (to prevent rot). We cared for this watermelon.

All that sweat and pain and sunburns? In that one bite... Worth it.

11:33 p.m. - August 01, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

a-quick-peek
butterfly937
dragonsnaps
hitch-hike
italktowalls
itoldyou
justjulie
odds-n-ends
scullerymaid
thecritic
tsulnagrom
unchallenged
voicescarry
lostashes
atrandom
swingitaway