diamondsky's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Goal

I have this life goal of mine. Other than reaching the kingdom of Heaven, that is.

I want to make an impact in this world. I want to make a difference. I want to change things for the better.

And when I leave this world, I want to have made enough of an impact that someone dedicates a tree in my memory. I want a tree that someone can sit underneath with a good book and a glass of lemonade. A tree that blossoms in the early spring and provides a shady escape in the summer.

There's a donor tree project at Allerton Park right now. There are eight trees left. After they have all been sponsored, I want to sit under each tree and enjoy the memory, the occassion, the gift for an evening. I want to soak up the story of each tree, one leaf at a time.

The woman I spoke to about the program told me that this can be done at any time. She told me about a recent donation. A man and his family dedicated a tree to the park in honor of his wife's birthday. On her birthday they all had a picnic under the tree, and the woman just cried and cried tears of joy.

Yeah. I'd like that.

11:42 p.m. - June 06, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

a-quick-peek
butterfly937
dragonsnaps
hitch-hike
italktowalls
itoldyou
justjulie
odds-n-ends
scullerymaid
thecritic
tsulnagrom
unchallenged
voicescarry
lostashes
atrandom
swingitaway