diamondsky's Diaryland Diary

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Weekend.

What a crazy, wild weekend I had.

It started out with a 10am departure from the Plant Sciences Lab with my professor, an awkward Egyptian professor, and seven of my classmates for an overnight fieldtrip. I had "Prince Caspian" to read during the bus trip, but everyone else was complaining about missing Unofficial. We stopped at two greenhouse businesses in the southern part of the state, and I seriously thought we could have ended the field trip after that. But we kept on going, and we made it over to the hotel for the night. More than half the class went out drinking, but my classmate/hotel roommate and I decided to stay in, order a pizza, and watch HGTV for the rest of the evening. It was so nice to sit back and relax.

That morning we had to be in the lobby at 7am. A few people were definitely hungover, so that was interesting. We were supposed to go out to the Botanical Gardens, but it was snowing and windy. Our professor let us have breakfast instead. Mmm. We arrived at the Gardens, and he wanted us to walk around and look at the plants. And by plants he obviously meant the evergreen shrubs and trees, because everything else was dead and covered with snow. Great learning experience, I tell ya. The tropical and temperate greenhouses were amazing, but of course I had left my camera in my purse. In the bus. Whoops.

The field trip continued on to another trip to two different growing facilities. One was absolutely amazing, very highly organized and maintained. The other was a much smaller facility, but they grew the most beautiful plants. They specialized in plants for garden centers, instead of Wal-Mart or Lowe's. It was interesting, but I just wanted to get home. I finished the book before sunset, and got a little sleep before arriving back on campus.

The day ended at a friend's birthday celebration. It was a breakfast potluck... I brought bread and jam for toast. That's what happens when you live in a dorm. : ) I was a little (okay, a lot) grumpy before the party, not to mention tired and hungry by now (9pm). Needless to say, I wasn't exactly the best company for Jon before the party. Luckily, I snapped out of it and had a good time the rest of the evening.

Yesterday I had mass, brunch, and then finished homework, a quiz, and a project before 4pm. I was pretty impressed with myself, if I may say so myself. At 4:30 Lynn arrived to pick me up for the Augustana/Goo Goo Dolls concert. We were both SO pumped. We rocked out to a mixed CD on the way down to the concert. We had dinner with her sister, and then headed over to the show.

The show was freakin' fantastic. I'm pretty sure Augustana was high, and it looked like they hadn't showered in days. They sounded amazing, even though the lead singer started a song by strumming his guitar and then saying, "uhh... heh. Shit." Entertaining, nonetheless. I liked them a lot, but they need to work on band-audience interaction. "Sunday Best" was so good live, and they finished strong with "Boston."

Finally, Goo Goo Dolls took the stage. I hadn't seen them since 8th grade, but this time I was so close I could see the sweat dripping off their face. Pretty sweet. They were amazing, to say the least. Audience interaction was excellent, as we all sang the words to "Slide", "Name", and "Iris." Black balloons floated around us during (take a guess) "Black Balloon." It was a rocking night. Then these two or three little junior highers tried to cram through the crowd to get to their friends or whatever. I didn't care, because they weren't tall enough to be in my way, but these adults were ticked off. They tried blocking them off like football players or something. It was pretty ridiculous. Then a couple guys started crowd surfing, and a little 13-year-old thought he could pull it off, too. But the crowd definitely dropped him, and he fell to the ground about 6 feet away from me. Hilarious. "Let Love In" was a little weak, but it still sounded good. They came back for the encore and played "Acoustic #3." I'm pretty sure I was in Heaven by then, and I recorded it on my phone. Ahhhhmazing.

We drove back that night, and I think I crawled into bed at 1am. My alarm didn't go off, and I didn't wake up until my roommate's alarm went off at 7:42, and I still made it to my 8am class.

I'd say it was a pretty solid weekend.

10:15 a.m. - March 05, 2007

-----------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

previous - next

latest entry

about me

archives

notes

DiaryLand

contact

random entry

other diaries:

a-quick-peek
butterfly937
dragonsnaps
hitch-hike
italktowalls
itoldyou
justjulie
odds-n-ends
scullerymaid
thecritic
tsulnagrom
unchallenged
voicescarry
lostashes
atrandom
swingitaway